Formerly known as Llangoed Castle, the hotel is set in 7 hectares of garden and parkland in the valley of the River Wye, 14 km west of the picturesque Hay On Wye. According to the late Sir Clough William Ellis, the celebrated Welsh architect, there appears to have been a house on this site since 560 AD. Today most of the building owes its heritage to Edwardian architect Sir Clough William Ellis, who finished rebuilding it in 1919. The carved timber staircase and 95-foot-long pillared gallery are examples of unusual daring on his part. There are 23 bedrooms providing a variety of different types of accommodation. Guests are welcomed in the lobby with a 24-hour check-out service. Business guests are sure to appreciate the conference facilities. Room and laundry services are provided for additional fees and those arriving by car may leave their vehicle in the car park.